2017 Honda Accord Hybrid initial impressions

Search this Thread

Old 12-24-2016, 03:00 PM
Enthusiast
Default Re: 2017 Honda Accord Hybrid initial impressions

I just bought my 2017 exl hybrid. My initial impression is I hate it.

The steering has little to no feedback.

The car sways like a mack truck is infront of you at 70mph but there is nothing in front of me. The lane assist at these speeds seems to almost put the car in a death wobble. And even below that speed I feel I am constantly correcting my steering left and right to go straight.

The radio in aggravating and I wish it wouldn't automatically play pandora when plugged in.

The fit and finish is poor. 70mph on I95 here and the left front dash rattles sooooo badly.

I came from a 2013 Regal GS which I liked but the manufacture couldnt figure out why the Turbo Wastegate wouldnt close until 3500rpm.

A little background I am a ASE certified Tech. And worked for Toyota as a Assistant Service Manager for a decade.

I don't think the swaying is something wrong with the car. They just put a crappy suspension in it that rides like a Roadmaster.

Old 12-27-2016, 11:49 AM
Enthusiast

@slowregal I came from a prior 1998 Honda Accord by way of a 2012 VW Passat SE TDI. This is my first Hybrid and the first car with electronic steering and advanced sensing features. I have driven other hybrids which were the Prius and the Camry Hybrid.

The Accords are known to have better handling characteristics some cars in the class, but I don't think this includes the Hybrid. I believe it includes electronic steering, the added weight of the Hybrid system (I believe this is about 300 lbs -- the "transmission" is slightly heavier than the traditional CVT and then there is the battery pack), the 17-inch wheels. I understand there were some suspension improvements for 2017. I have yet pushed the car to its limits in a corner to fully appreciate the feedback.