New exhaust 2 1/4"

Search this Thread

Old 12-17-2005, 01:55 PM
Enthusiast
Default Re: New exhaust 2 1/4"

Sorry guys...I've been busy wrapping up the year at work. Also, I need to do a little research on some of my ideas first. My idea is to find a way (ways) to increase performance without compromising FE (or ideally, to improve it). Since I am very new to hybrids, I have to get acquainted with a couple of powertrain things before I just throw out unfinished ideas. Hopefully, I can post something this week.

Old 12-22-2005, 11:19 AM
Active Enthusiast

ok, so I took the same trip again over the mountain but this time I didn't use cruise control and i did use a lot of neutral gliding (if you don't know what i'mt alkign about look at post 81 from this thread) This time around I did much better getting over 260 miles with a final mpg of 45.4. Not only that but I upped my speed by about 5 mph on this trip so I guess cruise control vs human foot does make a big difference in my situation (mountain climbing). Also, I had a passenger with me which weighed more then my last two combined. Oh, and remember that noise I told you about Duc? I took the car back to the shop and they foudn that the pipe was hitting against the body of the car when it vibrated so they reinforced one of the weldings and now the clunking noise is gone. One question i forgot to ask the guy from the muffler shop was if it was better for the pipe not to move at all, as it not to vibrate at all, meaning it would have weldings every few feet, or if it's better for it to have a little room to vibrate? I really can't feel the vibrations of it anymore unless i'm in the low revolutions which are anything below 1.5 rpm's

Old 12-22-2005, 06:36 PM