Journalism & The Media Television, radio, movies, newspapers, magazines, the Internet and more.

Survey: Credit Card Use at Gas Pump Surges

Search this Thread

Old 09-20-2005, 06:00 PM
Pretty Darn Active Enthusiast
Default Re: Survey: Credit Card Use at Gas Pump Surges

Originally Posted by bar10dah
I generally go to Chevrons (sometimes Quiktrips) due to the "top-tier" gas. And since I have a Chevron gas card, at the end of the month I can see exactly how much fuel has cost me and I can compare to what I paid for fuel in the previous months. If I pay with cash, I lose track of how much fuel went into the tank.
All you need in order to keep track of fuel used, cost, etc. is to keep a small notebook in your car and log your fuel purchases. I've been doing that for at least 20 years now. My log has 4 columns (date, miles, gallons and cost). If your car has a trip meter, tracking miles is easy -- just reset it to zero at each fillup.

As for tracking fuel costs on a monthly basis, that's easy to do in Quicken or MS Money whether you use credit card(s), cash or both. Just use the "automobile --gasoline" category (or whatever your program calls it). Money '03 will even let you see monthly bar charts for comparison.

Old 09-20-2005, 07:08 PM
Banned

Page 2 of this MSNBC Story(breakdown of the price of US gas) states each gallon of gas is charged five cents by the credit card companies.

Old 09-21-2005, 06:37 AM
Have hybrid, will travel.

Read it again, UP TO five cents.

Old 09-21-2005, 07:51 AM
Active Enthusiast

Originally Posted by Walter
Next step is for mortgage companies to set up at gas stations. 2nd mortgage on your house with a lien against your left arm or first born in exchange for a FULL tank of gas.
--Walter
Don't forget... mortgage companies insist on inspections!

"Yes, but before we approve your loan, Mr. Smith, our mechanic will have to check out your vehicle. BTW, there's a $200 inspection fee that you'll need to pay up front."

Old 09-24-2005, 01:01 PM