Off Topic Politics, life, gadgets, people... gobbledygook.
View Poll Results: What do you think of Nuclear Power?
Nuke power is the best option to meet our energy demand. No worries!
22.92%
Nuke power has some safety/security and waste issues but is still the best short term option.
45.83%
While Nuclear power is clean and does not contribute to global warming the safety risks concern me.
18.75%
Nuclear power is not safe, waste is a huge and long term problem. Option of last resort.
12.50%
Voters: 48. You may not vote on this poll

Nuclear Power?

Search this Thread

Old 03-22-2007, 06:51 PM
Hybrid True Believer
Default Re: Nuclear Power?

There is another use for nuclear energy. Back when I was a roofer, our company had for Troxler nuclear moisture gauges. It had a tiny core of americium that emitted a pulse of fast neutrons into the roof membrane. Depending on how much of the pulse bounced back into the collector, we could determine how wet the roof insulation had become without having to physically cut a core sample.

Old 03-23-2007, 07:57 AM
Ridiculously Active Enthusiast

Originally Posted by brick
Yeah, the rods are inside the pressure boundary. That's part of the reason that we use electromagnets to control them: it's the easiest way to manipulate them without actually having to put some sort of moving part through the vessel head.

As far as the uranium is concerned, that doesn't surprise me. I wouldn't necessarily recommend sleeping with it under your pillow for several years straight, mind you, but the level of radioactivity due to natural decay is pretty low before you expose it to a neutron flux and start splitting atoms on purpose. You can work around it safely without ill effects. Just don't try it with a fuel rod that's been in an operating reactor!
Ok. That makes sense, so a "spent" rod is radioactive because there is still some fission going on?

Old 03-23-2007, 02:15 PM
Engineering first

Originally Posted by livvie