Hybrid tax credit bait and switch

Search this Thread

Old 03-10-2007, 01:51 PM
Enthusiast
Default Re: Hybrid tax credit bait and switch

Originally Posted by warehouse
ATTENTION!!! I am no tax expert but at first it looked as if I was only getting about $500 of the $1300 credit because of the dreaded "minimum tentative tax" . Then I found out that there was a bug in Turbo tax where it was not importing my AMT capital gains carry over correctly and thus messed up my line "16" of the AMT worksheet. Once this was corrected I got my full credit. The rest of you might want to check this. Here's a link explaining the problem:

http://forums.turbotax.com/rss/messa...message.id=945
Just had mine done today and got to take the full $2600. it was a good day!!!

Old 03-11-2007, 03:49 PM
Enthusiast

Originally Posted by warehouse
ATTENTION!!! I am no tax expert but at first it looked as if I was only getting about $500 of the $1300 credit because of the dreaded "minimum tentative tax" . Then I found out that there was a bug in Turbo tax where it was not importing my AMT capital gains carry over correctly and thus messed up my line "16" of the AMT worksheet. Once this was corrected I got my full credit. The rest of you might want to check this. Here's a link explaining the problem:

http://forums.turbotax.com/rss/messa...message.id=945
I just did my taxes using Turbo Tax and since I sold some Stocks last year, my income rose severely. I got to take full advantage of the $2600.00 tax credit. Whew!!

Old 03-20-2007, 06:53 AM
Active Enthusiast

Just got mine back. I am a full victim of the bait & switch. $0 credit.

Old 03-20-2007, 09:49 AM
Ridiculously Active Enthusiast

Once again, calling this tax credit a "bait and switch" is not correct.

Bait and Switch refers to offering one thing and then because you agree to buy it because of the one thing, replacing that one thing with something else less valuable.