portable GPS does not work in my TCH

Search this Thread

Old 01-24-2007, 03:45 AM
Keeping Toyota Solvent
Default Re: portable GPS does not work in my TCH

I ripped the Honeywell GPS out of my Gulfstream Jet and it works perfectly in my '07 Camry Hybrid.

Last edited by schmidtj; 01-24-2007 at 03:48 AM.
Old 01-25-2007, 07:39 AM
Ridiculously Active Enthusiast

Originally Posted by Qslugs
so are you guys stating that portable GPS in general dont work in hybrid cars? Or particular configurations with specific models?

I am totally new to the hybrid things and havent heard anything about this yet.

I have a garmin 60c and was assuming that I could use it in the car. Anyone know if I will have issues using this model in the THC?

haha, good one. no. hybrid has nothing to do with it. has to do with construction of windows and what they put into the glass, or on it (film). it appears that it's working for those that have sunroofs in their car, this piece of glass probably lacks the film or materials found in the windshield which allows a signal to get through.

Old 02-14-2007, 09:55 PM
Malcontent

I got my Garmin Nuvi 660 today and it has no problems with reception. As I may have mentioned before, I have no sunroof.

Old 08-25-2008, 11:15 AM
Pretty Darn Active Enthusiast

I would like to revisit this topic. I got a Garmin Nuvi 750 just over a month ago. I took it on several trips and the reception was very good. Recently, I've had more occasions to use it after dark, and I've run into many more problems. Sometimes it has taken 20 minutes to find the satellites. Has anybody run into more issues at night? It may just be that my unit is starting to develop problems.

Old 08-25-2008, 12:21 PM
Ridiculously Active Enthusiast