Prius 2005 mileage disappointing

Search this Thread

Old 06-16-2010, 07:18 AM
Enthusiast
Default Does anyone know about 2004 Prius? Re: Prius 2005 mileage disappointing

I'm thinking about buying a 2004 Prius Hy for $8,500. 53,000 miles.
what kind of mileage should i get with a car this old?
Will the battery or other things be expensive to repair? & when will i need a battery?
Should i make sure the recall has been fixed?
Thanks for any info you might give me. I'm a newbie to the hybrid world.
but want to be Greener.
Has anyone hooked up a drive on water kit for better mileage & can it be done on the hybrid? was the gas mileage better?
thanks
Joanna

Old 06-16-2010, 07:46 AM
Engineering Professor
Default Re: Does anyone know about 2004 Prius? Re: Prius 2005 mileage disappointing

Originally Posted by joey
I'm thinking about buying a 2004 Prius Hy for $8,500. 53,000 miles.
what kind of mileage should i get with a car this old?
My 2004 with 178,500 miles gets better MPG today than it did when new (about 46 MPG)
Will the battery or other things be expensive to repair? & when will i need a battery?
I'm still using the original traction battery, they are quite reliable. Refurbished HV batteries are available for about $1500
Should i make sure the recall has been fixed?
Yes, get the CarFax for this car and make sure that it is NOT a salvaged car so that the original hybrid warranty is still valid
Thanks for any info you might give me. I'm a newbie to the hybrid world.
but want to be Greener.
Has anyone hooked up a drive on water kit for better mileage & can it be done on the hybrid? was the gas mileage better?
These "Water" units are a fraud as are most advertised systems to increase MPG. One thing that does help MPG is Low Rolling Resistance tires.
thanks
Joanna

Old 06-16-2010, 10:50 AM
Enthusiast
Default Re: Prius 2005 mileage disappointing

Thank you so much!