Nav System Install

Search this Thread

Old 11-19-2007, 04:57 AM
Enthusiast
Default Nav System Install

Hello all,
My wife and I just got her new 08 FEH and she loves it. She was driving around in a Diesel Excursion so it might take a while to adjust to the smaller size. Anyway, I ordered the Hybrid Nav system from the dealer (good price break) as part of the negotiations. I have extensive experience installing audio systems and well as LoJack devices. My question to you all is, should this just be a "plug and play" install? I mean, the harness should already be there behind the dash. Any thoughts?

Old 11-19-2007, 06:21 AM
Ridiculously Active Enthusiast
Default Re: Nav System Install

Originally Posted by jasonmckay
My question to you all is, should this just be a "plug and play" install? I mean, the harness should already be there behind the dash. Any thoughts?
I don't know about the '08, but harnesses weren't there on the earlier models.

The "problem" is that the Nav system in the hybrid also has to tie into the hybrid's computer system. This supports the extra hybrid-only screens on the Nav system. The computer system also needs to know to send some info, like that for mileage, to the Nav system instead of to the Message Center.

Old 11-19-2007, 06:49 AM

I know at one time Ford uses a single wiring harness across a models (like all the convertible wiring being available even if it's not a convertible). But from what I've read that's no longer the case. Please let us know how you make out with this project.

Old 11-19-2007, 08:36 AM
Hybrid and Ethanol Expert

On the 2005's to 2007's there were five, count 'em... 5 separate wire harnesses that plug into the back of the Nav radio. One for GPS, one for MPG, one for CD changer, one for Speakers, etc.

One of them, for the MPG display went either to the instrument cluster, or the radio, but not both places. So if you have MPG on the Instrument Cluster, there will not be a MPG "wire" at the back of the radio.