Footwear and Fuel Efficiency

Search this Thread

Old 08-29-2007, 10:05 PM
Enthusiast
Cool Footwear and Fuel Efficiency

I'll admit that I'm quite new to this, having had my FWD FEH for exactly 8 days, but I noticed something yesterday that I find interesting. I'd been consistently averaging (according the the NAV system computer) ~36 mpg in mixed driving, but yesterday, the car seemed less responsive all day - I couldn't seem to find a groove when driving, and by the end of the day had dropped to under 34. Then I realized that instead of the deck shoes or sandals (I know, how Southern Californian) that I normally wear, I had put on a pair of thick soled crossover training shoes. I wore my normal shoes today, and by the time I got back home tonight, the mpg was back to reading 36.3. I haven't really changed my driving style any thus far (well, maybe I'm not accelerating away from a light quite so quickly as I had been), but just the change in footwear seemed to make a fairly significant difference. Has anybody else experienced this, or am I just tripping?

Old 08-30-2007, 05:13 AM
Diesel Driver
Default Re: Footwear and Fuel Efficiency

I've driven with no shoes, just socks in the past - it does make a difference.

Old 08-30-2007, 06:24 AM
Enthusiast

Oh yeah. I noticed that every Friday my gas mileage went all to heck (comparatively). Monday thru Thursday I'd wear heels or slip on shoes, which I'd then take off as soon as I got in the truck and drive barefoot. Friday I'd wear a big pair of clogs (casual day at work, jeans, etc.). Once I realized that, I started taking off the clogs to drive, too, and my mileage has shown the benefit...

Old 08-30-2007, 10:08 PM
Hybrid and Ethanol Expert

I assume you are not really suggesting it is the shoes, but more about how gently you can use the go pedal. There is something to that.