Plug in Hybrid Escape for sale?

Search this Thread

Old 01-14-2008, 06:23 PM
Ridiculously Active Enthusiast
Default Re: Plug in Hybrid Escape for sale?

Originally Posted by Pravus Prime
I spoke with Fords Hybrid Program uhm, guy Mike Tamor

Also, as an aside, the Ford Fusion Hybrid is supposed to get a release, but was only barely mentioned in the press show and isn't around to gawk at, but it is coming, I was assured.
Well, who knows when is when. If GM brings out the plug in Volt late in 2010, Ford and others will have to act. It is rumored that GM is mulling leasing the hybrid battery pack in the Volt in an attempt to bring down the cost of the vehicle closer to the non-hybrid version.

Old 01-14-2008, 08:03 PM
Active Enthusiast

2015? That's a shame. The world can use these vehicles now! Waiting another 7 years is ridiculous. I work in the pharmaceutical industry and a new drug may take less time to get to market. The pace at which these automakers are moving is embarrassing. The battery technology is already there - I do not accept that excuse. Because if I do, then that allows Ford (and other automakers) yet another 5 years as they "fine tune" things. We've been hearing about electric cars since the late 1930's!! The time to act is now, not in 7-10 years (or more).

Old 01-14-2008, 08:53 PM
Hybrid and Ethanol Expert

Part of the problem is... people are used to 250 horsepower cars ( or more ) so they expect 250 HP electric ( or hybrid ) cars.

It takes 746 watts to = 1 horsepower.

250 HP = about 200,000 watts, if you consider a little lost to heat.

200,000! ! ! ! ! !
That's enough power to power a radio station in New York that could be heard in Los Angeles. As soon as people accept 50 HP cars, we can talk about going electric.

Old 01-14-2008, 09:45 PM
Prof. of Hybridology