2012 Tahoe Hybrid No Crank No Start

Search this Thread

Old 11-03-2022, 09:37 PM
Enthusiast
Default 2012 Tahoe Hybrid No Crank No Start

Hello I have a 2012 Tahoe hybrid that I just bought from an auction as a non runner. When it was delivered I did make the mistake of trying to jump the 12v battery. Now after looking through these forums I know that was wrong. I did end up putting a new battery in. Everything works in the vehicle as it should but the vehicle does not crank. I used my code reader and pulled codes
p1afe
P0ac4
P0c08
P0521
​​P0521
I've been reading the forums and no that it's bad to jump the battery but did not find anyone that also had these dtcs. Can someone please point me in the right direction? I'm a heavy duty diesel Technician so this hybrid thing is very new to me. Thanks in advance

Old 11-04-2022, 05:47 PM
Active Enthusiast
Default Re: 2012 Tahoe Hybrid No Crank No Start

P1AFE = Drive Motor 2 Control Module Shutdown Performance, possibly open or short in one of the 3 power cables going to Drive Motor 2.
P0AC4 = Hybrid Powertrain Control Module Requested MIL Illumination (just saying the HPCM told the ECU to turn on the Check engine light)
P0C08 = Drive Motor 2 Phase U-V-W Circuit, The MCM detects at least one U-V-W phase current sensor is less than 9 amps. (sounds like an open in one of the phases)
P0521 = Engine Oil Pressure Sensor Performance (This seems like it should not prevent the truck from running, troubleshoot the other codes first. Make sure the correct weight engine oil is used (5W-30)).

Make sure you pull out the orange safety plug on the battery before working on any high voltage (300VDC) orange cables. when reinstalling the safety plug, be sure to slide the handle upwards after pushing it in, otherwise you'll get a new code and the truck wont start.