the Nexcell project lithium post

Search this Thread

Old 12-29-2022, 12:50 PM
Enthusiast
Default Re: the Nexcell project lithium post

I have not had auto stop issues, however its my first winter with it here. We have not had temps much lower than -15C.

Try driving in manual mode in the city for a bit to get your battery charged up to the max they allow. Then switch to regular drive and see if you can get it to stay on E only.

I stop and go traffic I can often get over 3 KM on battery only and I am easy on the throttle.

Have you connected the Torque pro app yet and check the voltages of your battery module pairs?

Chees,
Jaco

Old 01-04-2023, 04:37 PM
???
Active Enthusiast

Originally Posted by lvflyer
OK so I've got some questions on these. First I'm an amateur when it comes to building and testing LiFePO4 batteries, but I know more than most. As S Keith points out, without being able to program the ECM to take advantage of the properties of these vs. NiMH we will not get the full advantages. Personally in my 2013 Yukon Hybrid with stock NiMH I don't see much over 76% SOC and rarely over 16.7 volts per cell on mine. Even in long breaking I never see it go above those numbers. One of my disappointments is the inability to use the battery power only for stretches without being very gentle on acceleration. Since you never drove with a normal pack you probably can't answer this. I wish others with experience on these were in the thread. I have learned in neighborhoods where speed limits are low to accelerate to speed and briefly let off the throttle to allow it to kick into auto stop and continue for up to a mile without V8 kicking in. The slightest need for acceleration starts the engine though in traffic. Does the new pack give you a bit more ability to move some before start up? Would be nice to change whatever it is that causes the engine to start. I've watched the battery pack and it isn't because there isn't enough amps available, it has to be something that