HCH I-Specific Discussions Model Years 2003–2005

'03 Civic with 140K miles - a good buy?

Search this Thread

Old 05-31-2008, 07:09 PM
Enthusiast
Question '03 Civic with 140K miles - a good buy?

I'm considering buying a manual 2003 HCH with 140,000 miles on it. I was hoping that someone who owns a HCH with this many miles on it could tell me if this is a good buy or not (the dealership is offering it for $8,000 but might be willing to negotiate). I'm a graduate student who really wants to go hybrid but doesn't have a lot of money, and I'm concerned about the cost of repairs in the next few years. I'd appreciate any advice!

Old 05-31-2008, 08:33 PM
Ridiculously Active Enthusiast
Default Re: '03 Civic with 140K miles - a good buy?

Do they have the maintenance history with the car? Older HCH with M/T tend to be hard on the battery pack. You should hear from some of the guys that own this model. Check the past posts from the early HCH. This will tell you alot! Sounds like a fair deal? H

Old 06-01-2008, 07:21 AM
Enthusiast

I'm (hopefully) going to check out the car today and will ask about maintenance records. From poking around on this forum, it seems like the main issue is how recently the IMA battery was replaced, or if it has been at all, and if the car has any sort of warranty left.

Thanks!

Old 06-03-2008, 09:38 AM
Enthusiast

I think it would be a pretty good deal if you could get it for around the price you quoted with a new IMA battery. I have an 03 with about 140,000 on it that I got for just over 10,000 about 2 1/2 years ago. I have put around 55,000 of those 140,000 on myself. My battery is still doing well, but I am not sure I would risk that kind of investement without a new battery at this point.

Or you could try to argue the price down assuming you will have to put another 3 grand or so into it soon to replace the battery out of your own pocket, then if it lasts a few years you got a deal.

kernk

Old 06-03-2008, 10:49 AM
Enthusiast