HCH I-Specific Discussions Model Years 2003–2005

FAS Questions on 04 HCH with CVT

Search this Thread

Old 08-12-2006, 09:16 AM
Enthusiast
Default FAS Questions on 04 HCH with CVT

Okay, I'm a newbie here with an 04 HCH with CVT. So far I’ve improved from around 48 mpg local driving to current tank of 51 by using tips from the various treads. I would appreciate some advice here.

Is FAS advisable for cars with CVT? With cold engine? I can roll out from my driveway for about 1/2 mile before hitting uphill grade. I have heard a squeal once and a slight clunk once upon restarting which suggests this is not a good practice?

Assuming FAS is not harming my drive train, should I be in gear or neutral during FAS? Maybe it’s just me, but coasting in gear seems to give better control.

Is turning to key position III required to restart? With regular cars, I’ve always been able to restart while coasting in gear by just turning the key to position II but that has only worked once in my HCH. Otherwise I’ve had to shift to neutral and switch to position III to restart.

Thanks, -V

Old 08-12-2006, 06:01 PM
Vegetarian
Default Re: FAS Questions on 04 HCH with CVT

Yes you can FAS in a CVT and I FAS on a cold engine sometimes. I do a short FAS up to the light to get out of my neighborhood, I'd say it's less than a 1/8th of a mile from my house. Because my car isn't warmed up yet, it won't shut off when I get to the light, so I FAS it before I get to the light so don't use anymore gas than I have to.

Besides that I only FAS on a certian 1/4 stretch of road when I'm coming home late from my boyfriend's house, and there is no traffic. This one also ends with a light, so I always come to a stop before restarting.

My process is:
Shift to neutral
Wait a few seconds (so the car doesn't restart when you turn it to II)
Turn the key to II so your mileage is recorded
Apply brakes and use steering wheel sparingly
Upon full stop at stop light watch for yellow on cross road