HCH I-Specific Discussions Model Years 2003–2005

Possible to read individual stick voltages with battery installed?

Search this Thread

Old 01-07-2021, 10:57 PM
Enthusiast
Default Possible to read individual stick voltages with battery installed?

Hi, I have been driving and working on Honda Civics for 25+ years but I am new to the hybrid scene so please forgive my ignorance.

I recently purchased 2 HCH1s with questionable IMA batteries and I want to know if it is possible to read/monitor individual stick (or at least pair) voltages with the battery still installed or even while the car is running? I have read that with the HDS it is possible and saw people posting the data in threads (I cannot now find the threads again and I don't recall if it was even on this forum.) I have also read in a thread on this forum that it was not possible for the HCH1. So I'm hoping for a more definitive answer, possibly with explanation. Is it possible on later HCHs but not on HCH1s?

If it is possible, what is the least expensive HDS setup that would get the job done?

A little background:
I had been wanting to transition from a standard Civic to some kind of hybrid for a while. I found a 2005 HCH1 with a noisy but functional CVT and a leaky radiator. I purchased it for <$500. I have replaced the radiator and am in the process of rebuilding the CVT (bad bearing). Meanwhile the IMA battery has been sitting for > 2 months and I know that's not good for it. I also don't really know what condition it was in to begin with. I have since decided for various reasons that the CVT is not suitable for my needs so I will probably sell it when I am done.