HCH II-Specific Discussions Model Years 2006-2011

CVT "S" Mode Inproves Regen and AC Performance

Search this Thread

Old 06-23-2008, 12:36 PM
Enthusiast
Default Re: CVT "S" Mode Inproves Regen and AC Performance

Folks,

It's always nice to learn something new, but the exclusive use (and over-use) of jargon and abbreviations obscure the discussion and do not help those of us outside the initiated "inner circle." I'm an intelligent college graduate, and all of these abbreviations and jargon terms make it harder for me to understand what you all are talking about: FE, IMA architecture, regen, DWL, ICE power, etc.)

As a relatively new (and inexperienced) HCH2 owner and a professional writer, I have a request: please "make it easy on your reader" and spell out/define the complete terms you use before abbreviating them. (Linda has the owner's manual in southern California, 400 miles away, so that resource is not available to me.) It is far more inclusive to abbreviate terms like "fuel efficiency" (FE) after using them once in their more comprehensible full length. (That's why it is considered "proper English"" to always "explain" abbreviations in context.)

Thanks for opening up the discussion by defining your terms.

Yours for claerity,

Jon

Old 06-23-2008, 04:15 PM
Active Enthusiast

FE: Fuel Efficiency
IMA: Integrated Motor Assist (honda's hybrid technology)
Regen: Regenerating energy back to battery pack
ICE: Internal Combustion Engine
DWL: Drive with Load has to do with climbing inclines and allowing the speed to drop (or as MSantos likes to say, "bleed" ), you maintain Load or Fuel Efficiency on the engine as you climb the incline.

There really should be a glossary on this site for such acronyms and terms, but there is on cleanmpg.com and that's how I learned them. Check it out too. There's lot to learn over there as well.

Any others you're not clear about, please don't hesitate to ask.