HCH II-Specific Discussions Model Years 2006-2011

High Speed Surge

Search this Thread

Old 06-26-2008, 02:17 PM
Enthusiast
Default High Speed Surge

Hi Folks, Newbie here!
I just have 3000 miles on my used 06 HCH.
It had about 55k on it when I bought it.
Since I'm still under warranty, I'd like to solve this problem.

When I climb a steep hill on the freeway at 60 mph, I sometimes get a surge where the RPM jumps up and down about 300 rpm very quickly and the car bucks forward and back. It happens regardless of cruise control or foot control. Air conditioning is off. It seems to happen between 3000 and 3500 or 4000 and 4500.

Other than that the car works fine, although I have yet to break fifty mpg. I think it might be the tires the dealer installed. They are Firestone FR380s. I have not seen them mentioned on the HCH or Prius threads. I had them pumped up to max sidewall pressure and that did increase my mpg. I commute 100 mi per day with the cruise control set at 60. Sadly there are lots of hills and sometimes headwinds. Perhaps the surging issue is indicative of a problem that also affects my mpg? So far the best I have gotten is 49. I've averaged 43 for my 3000 miles so far.

Thanks for listening!
Chris

Old 06-26-2008, 03:05 PM
Active Enthusiast
Default Re: High Speed Surge

My dealer replaced two oem tires on my civic with Dunlop SP3000 tires. My mpg dropped 14% with just the two tires installed.

Tires make a big difference!

Old 06-26-2008, 06:30 PM
Ridiculously Active Enthusiast

Sounds like your CVT could use a oil change or flush? Has the oil ever been changed? What is the milage. H

Old 06-26-2008, 09:11 PM
Energy Independence

According to his post, about 58K.
I'm with Harold. I'd take a shot at a CVT fluid change also. Sounds like the belt's slipping some under load.
And tires DO seem to make a big difference sometimes. I'm still on my original Dunlops...

Old 06-27-2008, 11:30 AM
Rookie Enthusiast

hi Beez,