HCH II-Specific Discussions Model Years 2006-2011

Service time

Search this Thread

Old 11-30-2008, 10:57 AM
Enthusiast
Default Service time

Hi...I'm new to hybrid ownership and have many questions. All of the threads I have read are very helpful. Now that I have 3,000 miles on my 2009 Honda Civic I need to know what is the recommended service time. The manual says to go by the oil life and if the service indicator light doesn't come on to have it serviced in a year. That seems like an awful long time to me. Any suggestions? Thanks

Old 11-30-2008, 11:46 AM
Ridiculously Active Enthusiast
Default Re: Service time

The car has a maintenance system built in which tells you when service is required. Do as it says and save your money! The days of 3000 mile oil and filter changes are over. The system tells you when to service allmost everything. It reminds you when only 15% is left and has to be reset when sevice is completed.You still have to watch for parts braking off course. So read your manual and understand how it works,and be happy you have it! Then if your service department wants to change at 3000 miles, find yourself a new service outlet. H

Old 11-30-2008, 03:21 PM
Über Lord of Hypermillia

Essentially the service intervals for the HCHII are:

Oil change 10K
Oil Filter change 20K (or second oil change)
Cabin and Air filter change 30K
CVT fluid change 30K
Tire rotation 10K
Brake fluid change every 3 years
Spark Plugs 100K
Valve adjustment 100K
Coolant change 100K