Credit to tarabell and msantos!

Search this Thread

Old 02-05-2009, 05:45 PM
Enthusiast
Default Credit to tarabell and msantos!

I took delivery of my brand new 2008 Honda Civic Bybrid back in Dec 2007. Back then, I have little or no knowledge of what the ICE+Electric motor car could give.

Reading both

tarabell's article ... http://www.cleanmpg.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1306 and many of

msantos replies like ... http://www.hybridcars.com/forums/msa...id-oracle.html

had helped me take advantage of the hybrid.

I managed to clock over 51 mpg (21.7 km per l) over a 1 year period (from Dec 2008 till today - Feb 6 2009).

My specs in achieving 51 mpg...

1. Tires at 44 psi
2. with Aircon at 25 degrees C
3. start and drive off immediately in the morning and let the car warm up by driving gently for the first 5 to 10 minutes. Watching the instantaneous mpg gauge to ensure that I don't use too much gas. Best to have at least 50 mpg although slightly lower is fine.
4. I drive over 30 miles per trip with 60% (Stop & Go) 40% on freeway.
5. Speed any where between 45 mph and 60 mph, I could achieve over 75 mpg. Whenever possible, I would drive at speed to achieve the highest possible i mpg noting the traffic condition, terrain, gear ratios, etc.
6. Use RON 92 gas.
7. Use 5W-30 Mobil 1 as 0W-20 is not available. I believe I could get better mileage using 0W-20.

As per M Santos's recommendation, I try not to drive on Electric - only mode as this will deplete the batteries very quickly. If ( for short distance ) I wish to increase mpg, I use Electric - only mode making sure that the white bars never exceed 2 following Santos' guide. This may reduce damage to batteries through high drainage current.

Meanwhile, I am still trying to squeeze more juice out of the hybrid although I think 51 mpg with only 40% on HWY is not a bad number.

Old 02-05-2009, 07:54 PM
Ridiculously Active Enthusiast
Default Re: Credit to tarabell and msantos!