Maroon 5 HCH aerodynamics

Search this Thread

Old 05-08-2005, 05:25 PM
Pretty Darn Active Enthusiast
Default Maroon 5 HCH aerodynamics

So I'm looking at the official Honda Civic Hybrid web page, and notice that Maroon 5 has a "Civic Tour" or something to that effect, going on right now (in fact they were just in my town). And they have these two nice Civics, one of which is a hybrid. If you have not already done so, you might want to check it out.

When I read about these cars, I noticed that their HCH has been lowered by 2.00 inches, front and rear, for better handling and "a more controlled and comfortable ride".

And this made me wonder: "What effect would this have on the gas mileage of this car?"

I'm not a propeller-head (regarding cars anyway), but it seems like it would improve the aerodynamics to some degree and thus also improve mileage. I was wondering what the rest of you thought magnitude of this effect might be?

[Note that they have also put some sporty tires and rims on the car, which no doubt improve handling but hinder mileage. My question is about the effect of the lowering of the car, not the tires.]

Thanks for your opinions.

Old 05-08-2005, 05:32 PM
Default Re: Maroon 5 HCH aerodynamics

Lowering the car can help. Also, they do make lightweight racing rims that may infact weigh less than stock rims. I don't know if there is any large advantage to any of this but it may help a little.

I may end up lowering my car in a bit. I need stiffer suspension in the rear because of all the electronics and stuff I have stored there. When I get a new suspension I will lower it at that time. I'll be sure to post if/when this happens to let people know what kind of effect it has.

Old 05-09-2005, 07:21 AM
Ridiculously Active Enthusiast

Yes, lowering it would be a good idea for improved aerodynamics and reduced drag, thus at least a MINISCULE improvement in MPG, if no other factors contribute the other way.