newbie here, any performance mods...

Search this Thread

Old 05-28-2006, 02:34 PM
Witch
Default Re: newbie here, any performance mods...

The intake was the first mod I did to the car. It resulted in a net of 15% better FE. The Exhaust was 2nd and netted me nothing more than a nice rumble. The wheeles and tires were last and actually weighed more than the caftory ones as well as a higher rolling resistance based on the 1 inch wider tread.

You have nothing to supoport your claims beyond an opinion at this point. I have experience that is nothing more than heresy because the car is gone as it was traded in on the HCH II.

I have repeatedly (7 to 10 cars) seen results from filter/intake mods. If they did not work, they would not sell as well as they do. This is why products such as the "tornado" and "turbonator" are failures. They are nothing more than snake oil and the public catches on quick.

K&N and the like are not still in business by selling things that do not work.

Old 05-28-2006, 06:10 PM
Enthusiast

ok... going to put in a maggie(supercharger), catback(exhaust) with electronic cutouts ( i know i will take of the converter instead), dragbags, cai, nitrous, new cam, have it re tuned, and some kumho slicks - take it to the track see if i can break 18 sec. 1/4...any heart attacks after that mod list...i digressed... its my inner child

Old 05-28-2006, 06:31 PM
Active Enthusiast

A higher horsepower electric motor would be more interesting than a supercharger... I think at least.

Old 05-28-2006, 07:45 PM
MPG FANATIC WITH GUZZLERS

Tyler, well, I have what I think is a reasoned argument, you have what you found with your car.
Why do you think you got better mpg?
K&N is pretty careful about making mpg claims.They usually make hp claims.
Why did the CAI improve your mpg? "I don't know why, but it did" is a pretty good answer to lots of things?