Off Topic Politics, life, gadgets, people... gobbledygook.

"Hype" and P&G - venting

Search this Thread

Old 06-27-2007, 05:47 AM
Engineering first
Wink Re: "Hype" and P&G - venting

Thanks Carl,

Originally Posted by spartybrutus
Bob - thanks for the DATA above. Part of what is mysterious about P%G is that I seldom see anyone describe:
- min, max and ave speeds.
- max rpms on the pulsse
- rate of rpm increase or duration of the pulse
- rate of or duration of speed bleed off before next pulse

your chart DATA gets at this.

Certainly I am a newbie in my HCH2 and started with CC at the speed limits since it was "easy" to practice. Doing better than I had hoped at 54.1mpg lifetime. Now, I am trying to determine where P&G fits into the driving regimine and HOW specifically to do it.

Yep - a side by side comparison of CC vs P&G (including details of the P&G) at same average speeds would be handy.
This is exactly the engineering information needed for every vehicle. I've been collecting engineering data about my NHW11 and sharing it in the Prius specific forums. I've been using these data points to check the Toyota reported, specific drag formula:

But I've been disappointed that the P&G advocates don't provide a good model for either steady-state or P&G performance. Instead, it remains at best 'an art'. BTW, the equivalent 34 mph average, P&G and steady state data are on this chart.

The five horizontal blue lines are 25-43(34)P&G and the five blue dots are cruise control 34 mph. Later, I found there was a bias on the direction of my benchmark runs and the P&G had three favorable and two unfavorable direction runs. The cruise control tests had two favorable and three unfavorable runs. This means the graph difference is likely greater than it it is in 'real life.' I have no problem sharing this data since all speed management used the built-in cruise control to handle everything from acceleration through the glide.