Aftermarket GPS problems

Search this Thread

Old 12-17-2008, 06:59 PM
Active Enthusiast
Default Re: Aftermarket GPS problems

I'm not an expert, but have you tried using your GPS outside your car? Could it be the receiver in the GPS?

Also, again, I'm not an expert, but could your location in the US (or Canada) give you fewer satellites for the GPS to triangulate its position, thus causing it to take longer to pinpoint your location?

And last, where do you have your GPS positioned in your car? On the dash? Suctioned to the windshield? Near the gearshift?

Garmins are the best, I've had my Nuvi 660 for over a year now, still works perfectly! I only wish we got free map updates! Oh, and I wish mine had the speed limit. Can't have everything! (I've also heard the OEM Nav system has a lot of kinks and is just an added cost, any thoughts?)

Old 12-19-2008, 06:34 AM
Ridiculously Active Enthusiast
Default OF: Aftermarket GPS problems

Originally Posted by JoeRemix
I only wish we got free map updates!
How much are map updates? The Toyota map updates are ~$250.

Old 12-19-2008, 06:55 AM
Active Enthusiast

Garmin map updates are about $80, right now (they've been out for a few months now) some places are selling them for $60.

http://www.circuitcity.com/ssm/Garmi...oductDetail.do

Old 12-20-2008, 01:10 PM
Active Enthusiast

I have the Garmin 880 and an 07 TCH and have never had any problems finding satellites. I usually have 9-10 satellites and a 13-15ft precision listing.

I wonder if it makes any difference that I have a moonroof.

Old 12-20-2008, 01:30 PM
Ridiculously Active Enthusiast

Originally Posted by JoeRemix
Garmin map updates are about $80, right now (they've been out for a few months now) some places are selling them for $60.

http://www.circuitcity.com/ssm/Garmi...oductDetail.do
I think I should get an international Garmin and stop using the built in nav. Cheaper map updates.

Old 12-20-2008, 08:20 PM
Active Enthusiast

Originally Posted by john312