Which Mode was I in

Search this Thread

Old 08-02-2007, 12:25 AM
Ridiculously Active Enthusiast
Default Which Mode was I in

The other night I was driving the 8 miles from town out to our house. The highway has a ever so slight downgrade. Leaving town, I accelerated up to 45. During acceleration the FE readout was showing both the motor and ICE to the wheels at the same time. I eased off at 45 putting on the cruise. The EV shut off and only the ICE was running. It ran all the way to the turnoff to our house. I had plenty of time to watch the scan gauge. The gallons per hour was down to .4 and the rpm were rather low at about 1250 rpm. The engine load was something like 60.

I'm new to this and was curious what mode I was in. I forgot to mention, the whole 8 miles the mpg needle was sitting at 59 or 60 . I checked and the scan gauge mpg read the same thing. I thought to myself, at certain throttles this can be a really lean burn engine.

Old 08-03-2007, 11:18 AM
SPL
Default Re: Which Mode was I in

rburt07 — I believe that you were in "heretical" mode. From your data (72 km/h, 1250 rpm) I compute (using the Formulas in post #34 of the thread "Heretical Mode") that MG2 was spinning at 2032 rpm and MG1 was spinning backwards at -783 rpm under electrical power from MG2. That's an indication of heretical mode. From your fuel consumption figure of 0.4 gal/h (~1.5 L/h) we can also compute that your FE should have been ~2.1 L/100 km (~112 mpg). For some reason, though, this doesn't seem to agree with what you say SG said (~60 mpg).

Stan

Old 08-03-2007, 02:18 PM

Thanks Stan for your input.

I will have plenty of times to view the readings as its our daily 8 mile route to town and back. This time was very similar to the other night. While cruising at 45 mph, the scan gauge engine readings were:
gph = .5
lod = 65
rpm = 1235