Ultra batteries?

Search this Thread

Old 01-26-2008, 08:18 AM
Active Enthusiast
Default Ultra batteries?

http://blog.wired.com/cars/2008/01/ultrabattery-co.html

I want one of these for my Camry, in about 10 years...

Old 01-26-2008, 05:56 PM
Pretty Darn Active Enthusiast
Default Re: Ultra batteries?

Originally Posted by elsifer
http://blog.wired.com/cars/2008/01/ultrabattery-co.html

I want one of these for my Camry, in about 10 years...
I work in the transportation industry and because of that I was invited a couple years ago to a demonstration out at Long Beach Transit. The engineering team from Siemens (Germany) was there to demo a city bus they built with a massive slide-out bank of Super Capacitors over a CNG hybrid system.

They cleared out the entire lot so it was essentially a test track for the day and we got to go ride this thing. We were amply warned to hold on to the seats and grab bars. Then they launched it........

Obviously the drive line software had been tweaked to 'show off mode' but this 55 passenger rocket sled went from 0 to 50 in about 4 seconds, throwing us backwards in a way few could have expected. And it did this, SILENTLY!

Wicked Cool Technology!

I can't wait.

Last edited by McGyver; 01-26-2008 at 08:31 PM.
Old 01-26-2008, 08:22 PM
Ridiculously Active Enthusiast