Up in the air

Search this Thread

Old 01-26-2007, 01:33 PM
Enthusiast
Default Up in the air

Hello everyone.

I am new to this concept of automobile and am still on the fence on purchasing one.

What are the up and down sides of of the Camry Hybrid?

I like to fiddle with my cars on the weekends...Is this vehicle shadetree friendly?

Any help on this would be useful.

I'm sure that fuel concomption is going to be the strongest up side.

Thanks in advance for the help.

Old 01-26-2007, 01:50 PM
Currency-to-hydrocarbons
Default Re: Up in the air

Originally Posted by pmagnavox
Hello everyone.

I am new to this concept of automobile and am still on the fence on purchasing one.

What are the up and down sides of of the Camry Hybrid?

I like to fiddle with my cars on the weekends...Is this vehicle shadetree friendly?

Any help on this would be useful.

I'm sure that fuel concomption is going to be the strongest up side.

Thanks in advance for the help.

There are are a lot (read LOT) of gadgets on this car. If you are a gadget freak - you'll be in heaven.

I'm a licensed journeyman mechanic (nowadays referred to as a technician) and engineer even though I no longer work professionally in the field outside of building racecars.
I'll tell you this much - you'll be able to do the following general maintenance;
* Tire rotation
* Oil / Filter changes
* Exhaust system
* Brakes (although at the present wear rate on mine - I think they'll be good for 100k - Read about regenerative braking)
* Fluids
* Front end alignment (if you get into such things)
* Fancy wheels
* Fuzzy Dice

That's pretty well it.. I've not yet used my Scanner to scan the ECU on this car but pretty much expect it to give me everything else that an OBD-III/CAN car would..

All in all - it's one of the best cars I've owned to date... I've owned over 100 Cars, trucks and Motorcycles in my life - this is my first Toyota..

Old 01-26-2007, 01:52 PM
HSD Organic Interface