Post-Driving Noises

Search this Thread

Old 07-06-2010, 08:08 PM
Enthusiast
Default Post-Driving Noises

I have been driving my TCH for about 2 years now, and I have come to expect a wide range of normal noises from time to time. Today, however, I heard something quite different for the first time and am wondering if anyone might know what it is, (since my Toyota Service Dept is closed as of a few hours ago. Plus input from yall is always helpful).

After turning off the TCH, the usualy 'clicking' or such noise coming from the...ABS area, I believe, is expected, but immediately after turning off the car I heard a high-pitched whining noise. Now, visualizing you have just opened the hood and are looking at the engine, it sounded like it was coming from somewhere behind the radiator and down about 6 inches, near the left 'corner' of the engine. ...So, to the right of the ABS unit. The high-pitched whining/hissing/boiling type noise sounded like I should have seen something steaming or leaking, but nothing was seen. I kept a good distance since it sounded as if whatever it is was about to blow apart.

After getting my trusty flashlight I noticed some pink fluid splattered down in the area described, and caked on in small places down further on the engine. It looks like this may have sprayed out from somewhere, who knows how long ago.

The pink fluid - what does that go to? The radiator? .. Any tips or pointers before I go and talk w/Toyota? Thanks much!

Old 07-07-2010, 04:09 AM
Ridiculously Active Enthusiast
Default Re: Post-Driving Noises

Originally Posted by talljetman2
I have been driving my TCH for about 2 years now, and I have come to expect a wide range of normal noises from time to time. Today, however, I heard something quite different for the first time and am wondering if anyone might know what it is, (since my Toyota Service Dept is closed as of a few hours ago. Plus input from yall is always helpful).