Car Seat Recommendation (Side Airbag concerns?) HCH II

Search this Thread

Old 05-13-2006, 01:58 PM
Active Enthusiast
Lightbulb Car Seat Recommendation (Side Airbag concerns?) HCH II

Hi Folks,

We currently have the rather large Britax Boulevard car seat in our Acura. It is top-rated for safety and also is rather full-featured. It does require itself to be anchored on the back (it is a rear facing that converts to forward facing.) Our son is currently 9.5 months and is big. We will make it forward facing in late July.

We like Britax but I am afraid of mounting it on either side, passenger or driver's, but I am afraid of the side curtains hitting the seat in an impact.

Does anyone have any suggestions or is using a Britax, any model, in their HCH II? We're thinking about the Britax Marathon...

Thanks in advance,

Michael

Old 05-14-2006, 07:34 AM
Pretty Darn Active Enthusiast
Default Re: Car Seat Recommendation (Side Airbag concerns?) HCH II

I'm no expert, but it doesn't look to me like they come down that far.

Also, they're not pushing inwards--like the side airbags--they're sliding down, if I'm reading this correctly (from Honda's site):

Designed to deploy from the headliner, side curtain airbags help provide additional head- injury protection in the event of a significant side impact. The side curtain airbag is stored in a small compartment at each side of the headliner. A gas generator installed at the rear C-pillar supplies the inert gas necessary to inflate the bag through a channel along the side of the headliner affected. The airbag can fully deploy in approximately 20 milliseconds, creating a cushioning layer between the obstacle or vehicle's window and the passenger's head.

Old 05-14-2006, 09:40 AM
Active Enthusiast