Non hypermilers...MPG? Newbie here....

Search this Thread

Old 07-28-2006, 05:46 AM
Enthusiast
Post Non hypermilers...MPG? Newbie here....

Hi, this is my first post here...I anticipate buying an '05 or maybe springing for a brand spanking new HCH within the next month or so. I have been trolling the forums for a while now and have not found exactly what I am looking for so I would like to get some feedback from ya'll.

First things first: I am in the US Army and I am currently in Germany, so a test drive or two is not an option for me. I have fairly normal driving habits (currently in a 98 BMW with a four banger, I think a 1.4L or so, and it is a small but heavyish station wagon). Before leaving the states I owned a 2000 Civic LX...great little car.

1. For those of you who are NOT into hypermiling, what is your average fuel economy? I am looking for experiences from people who just DRIVE the car...like any other vehicle...

2. Just how much of a pooch is the HCH compared to similar non-hybrid small commuter cars? Noticeable?...liveable?

3. We spend 99 and 44/100s of our driving time inside our vehicles. How satisfied are you with the interior fit and finish of these cars? Has anyone owned (or have some experience with) both a HCHI and a HCHII? Any thoughts?

4. How good are the improvements in soundproofing? In my 2000 LX, that was my biggest complaint. At highway speeds I had to elevate my voice slightly to carry on a conversation due to wind/road noise. (Yes, I am a helicopter pilot, so my hearing is not the world's greatest...however I would like to keep what I have left!)