Oh well!

Search this Thread

Old 12-18-2007, 02:04 PM
Pretty Darn Active Enthusiast
Default Re: Oh well!

Originally Posted by Noni
................ I just held down the gas and spin/stopped for at least a full minute and only made it halfway up my driveway. ....................
Do you... ummm... go through a lot of transmissions? Differentials?

Scary.

Old 12-18-2007, 05:06 PM
Ridiculously Active Enthusiast

Originally Posted by McGyver
Do you... ummm... go through a lot of transmissions? Differentials?

Scary.
Well in this car you really have no choice since you cannot rock all that well. In fact, I thought the car does this for a few reasons one of which is to mimic a rocking?

Old 12-18-2007, 05:09 PM

Originally Posted by Squint
No, it can't, because both braking and B mode apply force through the tires against the ground to slow the car.

It doesn't help that B mode only brakes the front wheels. If anything, that's going to upset the balance of the car.
I am no expert but I do have to say I disagree.

During the first major snow fall of the season the roads were horrible. If I tried to apply the breaks, even a little, the moment they touched it slid. I took my foot off, dropped to B and bam -- instant decrease of 20 mph or more.

Yes, I can see B causing a fishtail or yaw if your back tires have no traction but at least it is not locking the tires and putting you into a slide. I used it a few times and it worked perfectly each time.

Just my experience. Time will tell and I will continue to play with it. Could have just been luck.

Old 12-18-2007, 05:21 PM
Pretty Darn Active Enthusiast
Default Re: From Wikipedia. Nice section on hybrids too.

Actually, he may be right.

-----------------------------------
Engine braking

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Jump to: navigation, search