HCH I-Specific Discussions Model Years 2003–2005

Idle Air Control And Crank Sensor Clean/Replace

Search this Thread

Old 11-11-2015, 06:08 PM
Enthusiast
Default Idle Air Control And Crank Sensor Clean/Replace

I recently took my 160k manual HCH I into Mile Hybrids here in Denver. I informed them that I am a novice DIYer and asked them to instruct me what to do. Here is my issue.
Symptoms:
1) Bouncing idle - at rest, rather than engaging auto stop, the idle begins fluctuating between 500-1500 rpms.
2) OR it will stall or sometimes idle normally; but again without engaging auto stop.
3) Frequent engine stuttering above 2700 rpms.
CEL codes:
1) P0335 crank position sensor 1 circuit malfunction
2) P0505 Idle air control system
3) P0420 Catalyst system efficiency below threshold
4) P1601 IMA system malfunction
5) P1567 Cylinder position circuit problem

I was instructed to clean the throttle body/intake manifold and/or idle air control valve (IAC) and clean the crank sensor. I don't know where these items are or how to get access to them. I have a service manual at home, but am currently traveling. I would like to do this work myself, but I need some help getting to the right spots under the hood. Any help would be greatly appreciated, especially pictures of the locations of the IAC, throttle body/intake, and crank sensor. Thank you all in advance.

Old 11-11-2015, 06:43 PM
Ridiculously Active Enthusiast
Default Re: Idle Air Control And Crank Sensor Clean/Replace

Wow. You have your work cut out for you.

The service manual is the best place to start.

Homey is the man here when it comes to wrench turning as he's rebuilt a CVT.

Good luck,

Steve

Old 11-13-2015, 05:43 AM
Enthusiast

Unfortunately I cannot order a service manual in time for my departure in 8 days. I have to drive 1800 miles from Denver to Baltimore at this point.
I would really like to avoid taking the car to the mechanic, so if anyone has any advice or information, please help.