HCH II-Specific Discussions Model Years 2006-2011

best RPMs when accelerating

Search this Thread

Old 05-07-2007, 05:47 PM
Active Enthusiast
Default best RPMs when accelerating

Hey guys, Just bought a 07 HCH two months ago. Still has only about 500 miles on it. At ~43 mpg I am still learning. What I would like to know in order to increase FE is what is the best RPMs when accelerating from say 0-60. Should i keep it at ~2000 or is it better to accelerate faster and keep it between 3 and 3.5k.

Thanks.

Old 05-07-2007, 07:16 PM
Ridiculously Active Enthusiast
Default Re: best RPMs when accelerating

I ignore my RPMs and just accelerate as gradually as I can stand.

It must work; my lifetime average is 63.3 MPG.

Old 05-07-2007, 07:33 PM
For my daughter

Kenny, me too I have a lot a question and doubt about the acceleration. Could you describe more what you do to get this 63.

The only thing I can tell you nark, Higher than 2000rpm is only for "emergencies". For the moment with my only 4000KM of experience, I prefer make a good pulse at 2000rpm and then glide as far as possible. But Kenny will give us all his secrets , pleeeaaaassse Kenny ??

Also if you could make differences between behavior with cold and hot engin, that would be apperciated.

PM

Old 05-07-2007, 08:19 PM
Eco Accelerometrist

Originally Posted by nark
Hey guys, Just bought a 07 HCH two months ago. Still has only about 500 miles on it. At ~43 mpg I am still learning. What I would like to know in order to increase FE is what is the best RPMs when accelerating from say 0-60. Should i keep it at ~2000 or is it better to accelerate faster and keep it between 3 and 3.5k.

Thanks.
There are two schools of thought:

1- Accellerate slowly preferably keeping rpms's at their lowest. Avoiding assist often figures into this approach too. I actually do this whenever there's no traffic behind me.