4wd feh quick question

Search this Thread

Old 01-04-2009, 12:51 PM
Ridiculously Active Enthusiast
Default Re: 4wd feh quick question

Originally Posted by TeeSter
I guess I just feel you overstate the situation....

Honestly... I've been on some real sheets of ice... I have yet, in 22 years of experience, to have ever had engine braking,

or in 3 years of regenerative braking, cause my FWD vehicle to loose traction when I've taken my foot off the pedal.

Ford has a US patent that involves this very issue. The patented technique calls for the lessening, substantially so, of regenerative braking capability as the OAT declines to and below freezing. The same patent designates that regenerative braking along with actual brake application is to be instantly disabled upon ABS activation, "triggering".

As some have pointed out I cannot attest to the fact that Ford actually makes use of the patented technique. Obviously it would be somewhat FOOLISH for Ford to have such a patent but yet not apply it.

I can loose traction when I apply the brakes! but its never happened in my recollection, without the brakes being applied.

When I enter a corner, I slow and apply brakes with the vehicle going STRAGHT.... When I reach the point where I am to turn, I actually have to apply the gas slightly (because I'm going so slow other wise the car would stop in the intersection) and the FWD pulls me around. Doing this I've stayed out of the ditch for 22 years.

If you do that in a RWD you'll find its difficult to control the vechicle because you have to feather the gas so much while turning to prevent the back end from braking loose.

So, on my RWD I have to feather the gas so much while turning to prevent the back end from breaking loose....

Yet on your FWD wherein you're relying on ONLY the traction co-efficient of those front tires to "absorb" the lateral, "turning" forces and the forward motion torque you believe you wouldn't need to "feather" the gas even more than I.....