Scangauge For The FEH

Search this Thread

Old 12-22-2005, 01:45 PM
MPG FANATIC WITH GUZZLERS
Default Scangauge-fun-useful-move from car to car

The Scangauge is a fun instrument.I move it from car to car(Titan-Pilot-Prizm).It also helped me figure out why my 4400 lb V-6 Pilot was getting the same city mpg(12-13) as my 4800 lb V-8 Titan.My wife and son are the main Pilot drivers;they don't drive "hard", but their right foot is always on one pedal or another(never just on the floor gliding).I strapped on the scangauge and ran the same routes with the Titan(12.9 mpg) and Pilot(15.6mpg).Of course since it is my wife ,I really can't do much about it;I'm a bad enough backseat driver as it is-don'y need to end in divorce court.
I find the GPH,MPH and the RPMs are the functions I eyeball the most.It is hard to get a precise reading from analog tachs and speedos;the scangauge gives a digital readout.I try to find a sweet spot with the GPH reading.It is amazing just how much gas flow increases (Titan)with mild acceleration(from .6gph at idle to 3gph with light pedal pressure).I am sure I would get readings over 10 gph if I floored it-maybe 20 gph.I'll give it a try sometime.
Best $129 I ever spent on a car gadget.Thanks.Charlie

Last edited by lars-ss; 12-22-2005 at 01:47 PM. Reason: not a SCAN-GU-AGE but a SCANGAUGE
Old 12-25-2005, 04:40 PM
Technology Enthusiast
Default Re: Scangauge For The FEH

Originally Posted by Wbruff
I downloaded the manual here. It does have a position for hybrid vehicles. I will order one and give it a test on my '05 FEH. Thanks for the heads up on a new geek gadget. I love this forum.
The Scangauge has arrived and installed. Installation was a breeze. What a cool tool. Played around with it a little today and am impressed. Now if I could just find a good place to mount it.... Right now it is located on the floor console just in front of the shift lever. I did not want to put it on the dash for theft deterence.

Old 12-25-2005, 05:46 PM