New Member - Silverado Hybrid Questions

Search this Thread

Old 01-02-2011, 06:07 PM
Enthusiast
Default New Member - Silverado Hybrid Questions

I am new to Hybrid world as I drive a 1000+hp vette on the weekends "at least it has an E85 conversion on it I guess". I wanted to give the Chevy Silverado hybrid a shot but I am a little skeptical, especially trucks.

I have an opportunity to get a 2009 Silverado 4dr Hybrid at a killer deal after a bad wreck that totalled my last truck. Few questions..

Towing.. Will it tow a 1,500lb trailor and a 3,200lb corvette behind it as well as a normal 5.3L Silverado?
What is the real MPG?
What know problems should I expect?
I hear that the battery has like a 8yr warranty?
I test drove it and it never goes into EV mode.. is that normal? I assume if so, warranty would fix it..
Any surprises I should expect?

All feedback is greatly appreciated!! Thanks in ADVANCE!

Old 01-02-2011, 08:33 PM
Enthusiast
Default Re: New Member - Silverado Hybrid Questions

almost 50 reviews an no one has any thoughts?

Old 01-02-2011, 09:42 PM
Administrator

tow capacity is 6000lbs, okay for your corvette. real mpg without change in driving habits(speeding, fast starts, etc) is 17mpg city. now if driven like a hybrid should, slow starts, slow gradual stops will get you 20mpg. highway= up to 25.7 mpg average. with gas almost $4.50 per gal that is a lot of savings.

Old 01-03-2011, 09:59 AM
Active Enthusiast