HCH II-Specific Discussions Model Years 2006-2011

2011 HCHII IMA Light Questions

Search this Thread

Old 02-15-2014, 12:16 AM
Enthusiast
Default 2011 HCHII IMA Light Questions

Hi,

First of all I have been reading this forum for a while as guest and I've found it to be really informative. Thanks for that.

I've been using a 2011 HCHII for four months now and I've been loving it. The millage of the car is just over 31000 kilometers.
However just a couple of days ago the IMA warning indicator popped up just when I entered a freeway after being stuck in urban traffic for a while.
The check engine light did not come on.

While I was cruising the highway with the light on, the assist and charging worked with acceleration/braking and I didnt notice a loss of MPG as well. In the freeway exit (15 mins since the IMA indicator came on), I stopped the engine and restarted and the light automatically went away.

Then I drove for about 100km in the reset of the journey and the indicator did not come on after that.

Today morning I did a power reset and drove it for a while. The battery operated as usual and it was assisting during acceleration.

Maybe it's just me but I remember IMA system used to give 2-3 bars of assist when cruising at a steady speed with the foot very lightly on the accelerator, at around 50-60kmph speed. I noticed that this type of assist was not coming anymore after the IMA light came on and went away.

My questions :
1. When the IMA light comes on, does the IMA system get switched to some sort of different mode? Like reduced assists? Assists are working as usual when accelerating, Auto Stop works as normal, it's just that I feel assists are lacking during a cruise. And maybe a one-two squares on the mpg meter is reduced too. Maybe its just me.
If it does indeed get switched to some reduced mode, how do i reset it?