HCH II-Specific Discussions Model Years 2006-2011

Battery cover recall -- Thinking cap time!

Search this Thread

Old 02-23-2007, 11:27 AM
Enthusiast
Default Re: Battery cover recall -- Thinking cap time!

First off, it didn't actually reset the mileage. Only the MPG info. (This is what had me confused!)

Secondly, re the 9volt battery trick - in my case it was not the 12v battery that was disconnected ... it was the big battery behind the seat. (Sorry, I'm not very technical, I know there is a better name for it). So would that work in this case?

I called the service guy who handled my recall and complained about this. I asked if they had any computer interface to the mpg info so that they could put it back in at the correct mpg (since I know that it was 44.6 at 7521 miles) but he swears that there is no way to do that. (I thought there might have been after reading some people's experience with the odometer resetting after the 62 mile bug fixes).

Old 03-01-2007, 04:05 PM
Opec Nightmare
Lightbulb Re: Battery cover recall -- Thinking cap time!

The other thing to keep in mind is when they disconnect the battery so they can safely do the work and then reconnect the battery after doing the work, service direction #20 states, "With the trans. in P, start the engine. Hold the engine speed at 3500 RPM until the IMA battery level indicator shows 50% or more charge."

This is why the mpg is so low after the job is complete.

We are scheduled to have ours fixed next Tue, March 6th. Any suggestions?

Old 03-01-2007, 06:59 PM
Pretty Darn Active Enthusiast

Originally Posted by bear15
The other thing to keep in mind is when they disconnect the battery so they can safely do the work and then reconnect the battery after doing the work, service direction #20 states, "With the trans. in P, start the engine. Hold the engine speed at 3500 RPM until the IMA battery level indicator shows 50% or more charge."

This is why the mpg is so low after the job is complete.