HCH II-Specific Discussions Model Years 2006-2011

HCH II City FE

Search this Thread

Old 10-07-2006, 05:50 AM
Active Enthusiast
Default Re: HCH II City FE

Yeah, it's the stop and go that will kill you. It's the HCH's weak point. Still, it's a killer on any car....you'd get significantly below EPA driving that way in any other car as well, most likely. A compact car getting 36mpg in heavy stop and go traffic is impressive.

Old 10-07-2006, 08:39 AM
Active Enthusiast

Newbie here. I drive about 90 miles (roundtrip) to/from the enslavement portal. I also drive 95 north in the northern part of VA (if any of you know the I-95 corridor thru this part it sucks). Anyway, BEST mpg for me has been 38. But - when thinking I was getting 18 in my previous car - and filling up to the tune of $45 before; the 38 mpg and $24 per tank makes me laugh now.

Old 10-07-2006, 08:56 AM
Active Enthusiast

You're getting 38 on the highway? Are you driving 85mph or what? Worst highway milage over any real length of time for me has been 46mpg. Of course in large uphill sections, I'll get in the 30s, but as an average, always at least in the 40s, and usually only as low as mid 40s if I'm in a strong headwind.

Old 10-07-2006, 09:02 AM
Active Enthusiast

I fill it up and toodle around. A/C on for some but not hanging meat in the cab. The electronic measurement says 38/39. 85mph on I-95 ? Maybe I'm not doing something right? I put gas in, reset the trip/mileage and go. Morning & evening traffic mostly - to/from work stop and go for the start (about 5 miles) and then open HOV travel for another 30-35 miles, and then stop/go for the remaining 5 or so. I've never seen 40mpg (yet) and have had the car since March. Even had the dealer check into it and they say all is well (but hten, they would say that). Any ideas then? Thanks

Old 10-07-2006, 10:35 AM
Active Enthusiast

Originally Posted by meerkat
Any ideas then? Thanks
Adjust your driving habits!