HCH II-Specific Discussions Model Years 2006-2011

iPod question and the 07 model

Search this Thread

Old 12-26-2006, 05:11 PM
Pale Driver
Default iPod question and the 07 model

Is there an adapter for the iPod that will enable me to use the line-in under the dash power socket? (I'm new to this Pod thing)

Old 12-26-2006, 08:55 PM
Eco Accelerometrist
Default Re: iPod question and the 07 model

Hummm... unless I am mistaken most iPods (mine included) can be connected to the line-in (aux input) with a simple and inexpensive male-to-male stereo extension.
You can get one like this at any electronics store.

This method will work but you cannot control the play sequence from the steering wheel audio control buttons. For that you'd need the appropriate iPod specific Honda accessory/option. Your dealer should be able to provide you with more information on the cost and capabilities of the option.

Cheers;

MSantos

Old 12-27-2006, 08:16 AM
Über Lord of Hypermillia
Default iPod Aux-in connection

May I suggest the Belkin Auto kit for iPod P/N F8V7058-APL, under $10 on ebay or $39.95 retail

And a male to male RCA mini stereo cable for about $3 at Radio Shack.

The nice thing about this rig, is that the ipod is powered from the car, and it charges the iPod battery. The audio comes out the balanced line out connection of the iPod and not the amplified headphone jack. This will give cleaner sound. The cable plugs into to Belkin plug, which also has a gain adjustment on it to match the audio level with the rest of the radio's inputs.

The downside of this rig is that the ipod has to be controlled from its faceplate and not from the radio.

We just set out iPod off on a playlist, and stick it in the bin below the radio.

Old 12-27-2006, 09:22 AM
Ridiculously Active Enthusiast
Default Re: iPod Aux-in connection