HCH II-Specific Discussions Model Years 2006-2011

Newbie here: Questions in buying a new HCH II

Search this Thread

Old 05-26-2008, 12:30 PM
Enthusiast
Default Re: Newbie here: Questions in buying a new HCH II

I go the opposite way - Haddonfield to Absecon. I used to have a Cadillac CTS which got 21 mpg. I made up a spreadsheet and figured I would average 43 mpg and save about $280 per month in fuel cost (based on $3/gal fuel at the time). Because my mpg is higher than estimated, and gas prices have climbed I am saving about $455 per month. Instead of filling the tank 3 times a week at $60 a fill-up, I visit the gas station once a week and it costs $34.

When you do your math don't forget to add the tax credit to your Hybrid savings. Also, I've learned that it helps to buy from large dealerships for 2 reasons. The obvious is that they have a decent selection in inventory, and the second is that since they make so many sales they can push a great interest rate with the finance company. Smaller dealerships don't have as much leverage.

Good luck.

Old 05-26-2008, 12:47 PM
Eco Accelerometrist

Originally Posted by Bobs Metallic Pearl
...remember, the hybrid & gas civic have the same bodies, same arodynamics just a different engine & tires...
Actually, at higher speeds the aerodynamic differences of the HCH versus regular civic are very noticeable. The HCH (@ 0.27 CoD) has a 0.05-0.07 CoD advantage over the regular civic due to its extra aero treatments. The higher the speeds the more glaring these differences become.

Cheers;

MSantos

Old 05-26-2008, 03:56 PM
Pretty Darn Active Enthusiast

Hmmm.... they look the same to me, so I am supprised... I am not doubting you but I am curious where the differences are.

Old 05-26-2008, 04:29 PM
Eco Accelerometrist