Storage Advice, please

Search this Thread

Old 05-02-2006, 07:57 PM
Ridiculously Active Enthusiast
Default Re: Storage Advice, please

Nine weeks of summer storage will not harm any battery. Proof?... Honda's move very quickly off dealer lots, but there are SOME models of cars out there that sit in new dealer inventory for over a year... USUALLY with no ill effects. That, of course, only addresses the lead-acid battery (not the NMh) and the fuel.

I'm no expert, but I would think the shipment and inventory storage time for most NMh batteries (like the rechargeable ones which end up in digital cameras) is WELL in excess of 9 weeks. I understand that the HCH battery is made up of smaller NMh individual cells, so this comparison is probably fair.

Honda would not provide an 8-year warranty (10 year in CA, ME, VT, MA, NY & CT) for a battery which could so easily be harmed.

I believe the long-term storage information is more likely for periods in excess of 6 months.

Old 05-03-2006, 03:58 PM
Enthusiast

I say, why risk it? Leave it with mom, dad, brother... someone you can trust.

Old 05-03-2006, 07:40 PM
Energy Independence

While I'm still waiting for my own HCH-II, I'll drive it around for you. Just bring it to Dallas!

Old 05-03-2006, 09:11 PM
now Insight, had an HCH

I let my old '03 sit for nine weeks in the garage when it was a little over a year old. When I got back I had to jump start it. I jump started it and took it out on a good drive to charge up the battery, battery charged up (12V & 144V) and it worked fine up until the day I sold it a few weeks ago.

I wouldn't worry about it, go on your trip and have fun!

Old 05-04-2006, 12:43 AM