Topping off the tank vs 1st click

Search this Thread

Old 01-16-2006, 08:49 PM
Ridiculously Active Enthusiast
Default Re: Topping off the tank vs 1st click

I don't know how true it is, but I've read (can't remember if it was in this forum or another) that topping off leaves fuel in the filler neck that is more prone to evaporation. I don't know the accuracy of this information.

Another thing I read was that fuel is more dense when it's cold. So it's best to fill up in the morning, before the sun heats up the ground. But at 15 gallons, I don't see this being of any major difference.

But since we're on the subject of filling up! My wife took my car on Saturday to go run errands and meet a friend for a movie. The fuel light came on while she was out, so she filled up the car. Not only did she pay 11 cents more per gallon than what I would have filled it up for, but she also "forgot" to write down the mileage! I've been doing that in front of her for over two years now. I don't know how she forgot. But it wasn't a problem. The FCD is programmed to reset after each fill-up! All I had to do was check the history screen to see the mileage.

Old 01-16-2006, 11:59 PM

Originally Posted by bar10dah
But it wasn't a problem. The FCD is programmed to reset after each fill-up! All I had to do was check the history screen to see the mileage.
Can you explain that a bit more? Is there a standard history display and something that normally resets when you refuel, or is it something you set up yourself?

Old 01-17-2006, 06:58 AM

I don't think the HCH has this feature. The HAH w/Navi has it under the INFO screen.

Old 01-17-2006, 08:58 AM
Pretty Darn Active Enthusiast

The salesman told me when I bought the car (we went to fill up the car together) that you are NOT supposed to top off. He was told by the head tech guy there. It seems to be more of a problem now that gas prices have risen....