Hey NAV users, look what I found

Search this Thread

Old 11-16-2006, 09:17 AM
Enthusiast
Default Re: Hey NAV users, look what I found

I can confirm that you can make a "hybrid" DVD that has the 5.1 override capability AND the updated map files. The instructions are posted at clublexus.com in the forums. It is tricky and you need to be able to burn a DL DVD disk. I had trouble doing it and needed someone to help me b/c my disks were not working. I am not an expert, but will confirm that it works.

Old 11-16-2006, 09:21 AM
Dazed and Confused

Can you "down grade" from 6.1 to 5.1?

Old 11-16-2006, 09:40 AM
Enthusiast

Thanks spam2000. That sounds good I will try it if I get my hands on the 6.1 disk. I still think I would prefer to keep my 5.1 just in case I can't get it working. Maybe what I will do is try making a copy of my 5.1 and see if it works in my car. Then I can keep the copy and if Toyota is requesting the 5.1 in return for the 6.1 I will be set.

Old 11-16-2006, 11:42 AM
Active Enthusiast

This does appear to be a great find. I seem to have just that problem, sometimes it shows my position being about 100 meters to the side of the road I'm traveling on.

Now does anyone know if this TSB was also issued in Canada and is this "upgrade" available to Canadian owners.

TIA

Old 11-16-2006, 12:19 PM
Ridiculously Active Enthusiast

Originally Posted by jk110
we are a paranoid bunch aren't we (me included!) - a good amount of us are willing to live with non-updated maps for the override (nobody has yet found the new one on 6.X???), and I think we will hold off on this as well till someone has the guts to try, and report that the override still works...