How come I can't go into EV mode sometimes?

Search this Thread

Old 01-25-2008, 07:04 AM
Pretty Darn Active Enthusiast
Default Re: How come I can't go into EV mode sometimes?

Originally Posted by haroldo
A guess, since I'm far from an expert.
To get it into full EV mode, you need to stop (in gear) for approx. 8 seconds once the engine is warmed up (needle half way) and listen to (or watch the screen) the engine. If it turns off after one second, you are not in full EV mode. If it turns off after 5-7 seconds, you are in full EV mode. It's possible your highway drive was started before you achieved full EV mode. The short stop and starts didn't allow enough time for it to get into full EV mode.
As to sitting in your driveway, I can't answer.
Larry--

You still seem to be misunderstanding, so I must be doing a poor job of explaining. I'll give it one more shot. EV mode is defined as ANY time you are driving purely as an electric vehicle. This means any time when your instantaneous FE needle is in "E mode", the blue region beyond 60 mpg. In other words, times when you're using battery ONLY, for power. There is zero requirement that you sit for 7 seconds at a stop for EV mode. ANY time the ICE turns off leaving you able to drive on battery you are by definition in EV mode.