Possibly a lemon?

Search this Thread

Old 10-02-2006, 08:24 AM
Active Enthusiast
Default Re: Possibly a lemon?

Rouman1, I don't know whether you were seriously considering your car to be a lemon or not. However, just in case, the topic of the California lemon law as it might apply to the Camry Hybrid was discussed at some length in the following thread:

https://www.greenhybrid.com/discuss/...ight=lemon+law

While I am not an expert in CA lemon laws, I mediate (different than arbitrate) lemon law cases in NJ.

I believe that CA law also allows a finding that a car is a lemon EITHER if a single problem has not been repaired in 4 visits for service OR if it has been off the road in the shop for more than a certain number of days for any one or more problems. Here in NJ the problem(s) has(have) to be of such a nature as to substantially impair the safety, drivability or value of the car. I would guess CA has a similar requirement. You may have to offer Toyota in writing one final opportunity to repair the problem(s) before bringing an action under the statute.

As I advised in the referenced thread, if you might possibly consider bringing an action, make sure that you keep a log of all days when the car was in the shop for repair, and of course keep all service records. Make a written note of all conversations with the service people and any up-line Toyota representatives about the problem. This information will help your lawyer immensely in preparing a proper claim.

Old 10-02-2006, 08:02 PM
Ridiculously Active Enthusiast
Arrow Re: Possibly a lemon?

Originally Posted by rouman1
...I have been getting low (compared to the others on this site), and decreasing mileage over my first three tanks of gas.
There's a learning curve to getting the best from your hybrid under any conditions. Three tanks of gas is a little quick to be wondering if you got a lemon.