Weird sound system problem

Search this Thread

Old 08-03-2007, 07:18 AM
Enthusiast
Default Weird sound system problem

Yesterday I got in the car to go grab some lunch. Using the mode button on the steering wheel I tried to flip over to an AM station. No sound. There was sound when I turned it back to FM. I have an MP3 CD loaded and that worked as well. Nothing was plugged into the Aux jack and my Blackberry was wirelessly connected via Bluetooth. It appeared the AM tuner was working since I could hit the scan button and frequency would stop on all the normal stations, but still no output. Then I started playing around with the local controls and got AM output by pressing the AM button on the dash unit. I went back to the steering wheel mode button and everything seemed to be back to normal. A little while later my wife called my Blackberry. Our home number showed up on the display but there was nothing from the speakers, when it should have been ringing. I hit the off-hook button on the steering wheel and still nothing. My wife could hear me but I could not hear her. I disconnected and disabled the Bluetooth connection, called my wife back, and finished our conversation. Next I reenabled the Bluetooth connection and called my wife back. This time I could hear the phone ring and she could hear me talk after she answered.

I have a hunch the whole issue had to do with the Bluetooth connection (I've had some minor connection issues with it before) but how it effected the AM output is strange. I'm not taking it to the dealer (yet) but I'd be curious if anyone else has had a similar problem.

Old 08-03-2007, 05:30 PM
Enthusiast
Default Re: Weird sound system problem

I had the same type of problem and at the time I hadn't even tested the Bluetooth feature or used the aux plug of the car yet..