Engine failure: Replace or rebuild

Search this Thread

Old 03-17-2012, 06:38 PM
Enthusiast
Default Re: Engine failure: Replace or rebuild

Clarification...We are going to buy another Ford Escape in addition to the 2005 FEH.

Old 10-08-2012, 09:16 PM

I have been an automotive technician for 15 years, 4 of those years at a Ford dealership. I also own a taxi company and 4 Ford Escapes hybrids with the atchison cycle 2.3L engine.
If I were to take a guess I would say that your ford escape engine failed due to high back pressure. The catalytic converter failed causing high back pressure and heat which damaged piston rings and possibly valve seals. And caused the engine to start using oil at a very high rate. Which in-turn caused the bearings to be starved for oil (that engine only holds 4 quarts of oil total) and being 2 quarts low on oil is losing half its oil.
If you replace the engine but don't check back pressure, you will have the same problem again very soon.

Old 10-08-2012, 10:22 PM
Ridiculously Active Enthusiast

Originally Posted by Philip James Wallick
If I were to take a guess I would say that your ford escape engine failed due to high back pressure. The catalytic converter failed causing high back pressure and heat which damaged piston rings and possibly valve seals.
Is this failure of the catalytic converter a sudden event or does it develop slowly over time? Is there anything to monitor to indicate that back pressure is building? Sounds to me like a good theory.

Old 10-09-2012, 07:17 AM
Active Enthusiast

So, what was the outcome?

Old 02-13-2013, 12:00 PM
Enthusiast

where can i get tech info or diagrams specs on 2.3 hybrid motor

Old 02-13-2013, 03:51 PM
Active Enthusiast

Originally Posted by Brian H Kellar

Try this: Name:  feh05workshopmanual.jpg
Views: 1668
Size:  198.8 KB

Old 02-13-2013, 04:48 PM

Originally Posted by Brian H Kellar