HCH II-Specific Discussions Model Years 2006-2011

Avoid This Tire Problem

Search this Thread

Old 09-13-2006, 04:14 PM
Enthusiast
Default Re: Avoid This Tire Problem

I am the original postee to this thread and I have pulled out both tire receipts. When statiing that the problem was due to the tread pattern was information passed on to me by Honda's regional service manager. I am not a tire expert and all I know is it took two months to diagnose the problem. Had I known that it was the tire I would have changed it immediately.

michelin p195/65r15 89s bw Replacement tire

Dunlop 195/65r15 original tire

part #42751-dun-039

Old 09-13-2006, 06:01 PM
Ridiculously Active Enthusiast

Originally Posted by gwilleford@satx.rr.com
I am the original postee to this thread and I have pulled out both tire receipts. When statiing that the problem was due to the tread pattern was information passed on to me by Honda's regional service manager. I am not a tire expert and all I know is it took two months to diagnose the problem. Had I known that it was the tire I would have changed it immediately.

michelin p195/65r15 89s bw Replacement tire

Dunlop 195/65r15 original tire

part #42751-dun-039
can you be more specific... which dunlop... and which michelin.

By any chance?

Bridgestone Insignia SE200-02

Dunlop SP31 A/S

Click on the links to see the specs for each tire. You will notice a diameter difference along with revs/mile difference.

Along with one being a stickier tire than the other. Lot's of difference for a same size tire. Again, tread patter is one of many factors here and unless I see the data, I won't buy it. I am guessing the service manager is just saying it's a "tire" issue and mentioned tread pattern as a possiblity.

Size
Service Description
Load Rating UTQG Max
Load
Max.
Inflation
Press.
Tread
Depth
Tire
Weight Rim
Width
Range
Meas.
Rim
Width
Sect.
Width
Tread
Width
Overall
Diam.
Revs
Per
Mile
195/65 SR15
89S SL 320 A B
1279 lbs.
44 psi
10/32"
18 lbs. 5.5-7"