HCH II-Specific Discussions Model Years 2006-2011

Blow Away by All the Technology

Search this Thread

Old 12-23-2007, 07:33 AM
Enthusiast
Default Blow Away by All the Technology

I'm still new to the HCH II which was delivered just before Thanksgiving. I thought it would be helpful to purchase the service manual - not because I anticipated doing any work on the car - but because I wanted to learn more about its guts. Have to admit, I was totally amazed by the amount of technology packed into this smallish vehicle. I stopped counting the number of processors and sensors. Makes me wonder how Honda is making any money on the car.

After a 1,000 mile trip, I think I'm just starting to get the hang of driving the car and understand it's unique personality, quirks and all. One of the best purchases I've ever made.

Old 12-23-2007, 09:11 AM
Enthusiast
Default Re: Blow Away by All the Technology

Welcome to the HCH II world. After about 15 k miles I did the same thing: I bought the Civic Hybrid service manual. I was amazed by the technology (mainly electronic control) involved. Knowing Honda, I guess they know what there are doing with all that complexity. My gut feeling is that Honda are playing safe and there is still room for improvement with all those controls. I am puzzled sometime with the way the IMA regeneration works, especially when it is cold. I did not really find the explanation in the manual but I am still reading!

Jean Binette,
Dunham Québec Canada

Old 12-23-2007, 05:26 PM
Eco Accelerometrist

jsamuels:

Keep up the enthusiasm. This is indeed a great car that can teach quite a few things can it not? For the owner willing and able to learn it can teach even more.
Please ask questions, and thank you for helping the rest of us make a difference.

Originally Posted by ejbhch
I am puzzled sometime with the way the IMA regeneration works, especially when it is cold. I did not really find the explanation in the manual but I am still reading!
Jean: