Re-program the computer?

Search this Thread

Old 02-13-2006, 08:28 PM
Default Re-program the computer?

Hi All,

Enough with the intro topic. Another glass of wine and it's time to get serious. Does anyone have any experience with re-programming the HAH computer?

While driving down from NJ to NC, I noticed an obvous improvement to the engineering of the car. It's okay, I'm allowed to do this, I am an Engineer.

Anyway, something that annoyed me a bit was that the 'I hate W' (eco) light would go out when climbing a light grade. I had the cruise on of course. What I have noticed about cruise control is there are two kinds, ones that track the set speed very well and ones that uh, well, don't. The HAH's does, which I like but in the case of maximizing full economy I am thinking some slop (that's a technical term) might be okay.

One key to fuel economy is constant fuel delivery. Economically, it is better to feed a constant amount of fuel to the engine over time, slowing on the uphills and accelerating on the descents. The problem is, drivers do not like the deceleration on the uphills and cops don't like the acceleration on the downhill .

Imagine a decay ratio of about 1 mph per 10s. Not very noticable over the short term. I noticed the IMA does not kick in unless I am accelerating with some spirit. What if the IMA carried me over the short hills? I mean 16 extra ponies may keep the gas engine in 3 cyclinder mode. Certainly if the battery reserve fell to a certain level the full engine could be engaged.

Thoughts?

David

Old 02-14-2006, 04:13 AM
Ridiculously Active Enthusiast
Default Re: Re-program the computer?

This was kicked around last summer, I think, by some folks. The course code is very likely a variant on C, and could probably be hacked.

Also being a EE, albeit from the harware side, I can think of several resasons not to do it: